Posted by: bibmomma | June 26, 2012

Interesting Possibility – New Algorithm Can Detect Parkinson’s Disease in Voices

I received an email message today from a representative of NEWSY – Multisource Video News.  They informed me that there is a mathematician in Britain that has pioneered a new way to detect Parkinson’s Disease by using a computer to analyze voice recordings.  To find out more about this new possibility of diagnosing PD, take a look at the video on this site: NEWSY.

Responses

  1. I got a similar message. I confess to feeling rather sceptical – it sounded like an Internet marketing ploy (albeit rather better written than many). I’m still investigating, but the BBC have reported on it, which (in my quaint anglocentric way) makes me feel happier about it. It’ll take me time to get my own post up, so here is Auntie Beeb’s take:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/technology-18427851

  2. My few penny’s worth:
    http://bloggingwithparkinsons.wordpress.com/2012/06/27/vocal-hint-for-diagnosing-parkinsons/

    Oh, and I called them, too.
    http://bloggingwithparkinsons.wordpress.com/2012/06/27/a-call-to-the-pvi/

  3. [...] Interesting Possibility – New Algorithm Can Detect Parkinson’s Disease in Voices (bibmomma.wordpress.com) [...]


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers

