Posted by: bibmomma | May 29, 2014

Finished Hitchhiker Scarf – An Accomplishment

Knitting is relaxing. There’s no doubt about that. Once I get into the groove of the clicking needles and making my way through a pattern, I relax.  The stressful part for me is making myself sit down to actually knit. I always seem to find some chore or distraction that keeps me from knitting.  But once I get started I seem to relax.  I think my tremors fade away when I knit. I’m not sure why, but it seems that the rhythm of the needles helps me to stop tremoring – especially now that it’s in both hands.

My good friend and knitting mentor, Cindy, tells me that knitting is proven to be beneficial for our brains. In fact there is a knitting guru called “The Yarn Harlot” – Stephanie Pearl McPhee who spoke at a knitting conference and related facts about this. I figure my brain needs all the help I can get, so now that my frozen shoulder isn’t hurting so much, I’m knitting again.

Since February I’ve slowly been working on the Hitchhiker Scarf by Martina Behm. I finally finished it and it’s ready to give to my daughter on her birthday in August. So now I’m working on two more Hitchhiker scarves for each of my two nieces who have birthdays in October.

I found this pattern on Ravelry (Ravelry.com) which is a great resource for knitters and crocheters. I paid for this pattern and it was well worth it. The yarn I used was Mountain Colors Twizzle in the color way of Hollyhock. I like the “alligator toothey” pattern that is on one side of the scarf. Hopefully, these girls will like their gifts. I’m almost finished with the second one now.

image

Responses

  1. It is gorgeous! Great job. I’m sure they will love their gifts!


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

