Posted by: bibmomma | June 7, 2014

Pondering Happiness

Tonight I’m pondering happiness.  We are going to move – leave this home I’ve been in for 16 years. I don’t know where we’re going, but we’re looking for a new nest.  I know we’ll land in a fine nest – I won’t accept less.  The space will be smaller, more manageable, less yard, no pool, no pond, and less yard work.  It’s time to downsize.  It’s time to live life, to do fun things and be happy – and work less!

Today I cleaned out the cabinets in the bathroom and half of the cabinets in the kitchen.  Gosh, I had a lot of “stuff”.  I’m giving it away, throwing it away, and generally making hard decisions.  It’s time to get rid of 1/2 of my crystal, most of my antique teapots, cups and saucers and kitchen things I don’t really use.  Someone will love them and use them.  But I don’t bake like I used to, and I certainly don’t can veggies and fruits anymore.  It’s time to transform my kitchen into a smaller, more manageable space.

So, I’m pondering happiness.   This is a scary transition.  I love this place.  I love my home.  But, I’ll adapt, and I’ll make another place “home”, won’t I?

Part of this decision to move has been because I’ve decided to have DBS in the Fall/Winter.  If anything happens and I have trouble, I don’t want my sweetheart to have to face moving us by himself.  I want to be fully settled, comfortable and not worried about selling, packing and moving.  I’m sure the DBS will be fine.  The success rate of Deep Brain Stimulation is great. But, as you all know, I’m a worrier.  But I’ll make sure all of my ducks are really in a row before I have the DBS.  Otherwise, I just couldn’t face it.

So, moving has been a long-term goal.  Now it’s a reality.  Packing crystal while fighting tremors is interesting.  I don’t recommend it for the weak-of-heart.  I’ll keep you posted on my progress.

So, no matter where you are – go forth, and be happy!

Responses

  1. A friend had DBS last year and did very well. Hope that helps! Best wishes & blessings.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

